Australia Day Honours 2016

Congratulations to the following Old Boys who were recognised in the Australia Day Honours list for 2016:


Professor Minas Theodore CORONEO (SHS: 1970-1971) Vaucluse NSW 2030. For distinguished service to ophthalmology, to the research and development of innovative surgical technologies and devices, and to eye health in regional and Indigenous communities. He developed ‘Trypan Blue,’ an ophthalmic dye used in difficult cataract surgery cases (used worldwide), designed and developed a surgical shunt device for glaucoma surgery and was involved in the research and development of the bionic Eye concept.

Professor Coroneo is a leader in the research of sun related eye diseases and prevention, termed the ‘Coroneo Effect.’

Emeritus Professor Douglas Edgar JOSHUA AM, Double Bay, NSW (Class of 1963)

For distinguished service to medicine, and to medical education, as an haematologist and academic, to myeloma research, and to public health organisations.

Professor Joshua is at the University of Sydney’s Faculty of Medicine and was until recently Director of the Institute of Haematology at Royal Price Alfred Hospital.


Professor Gustav Isaac LEHRER (SHS: 1959-1963) School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Sydney NSW 2006. For significant service to tertiary mathematics education as an academic and researcher, and to professional and community groups. He has been a University of Sydney Mathematics Professor since 1990, Governor and lecturer at Tel Aviv University and held various positions with the Australian Research Council and President of the Sydney Jewish Museum.

Mr Lionel Philip ROBBERDS QC (SHS: 1951-1955) NSW For significant service to the law, to rowing, and to the community. Amongst his many achievements, Mr Robberds QC represented Australia in the 1960 Olympics in the Coxed IVs and was a member of the Australian Squash teams in 1973 and 1976. He acted as Counsel Assisting in the 2001-2003 building industry Royal Commission amongst other professional achievements.


Mr Richard John GLOVER (SHS: 1956-1961) Neutral Bay NSW 2089 For service to charitable organisations, and to the community. He was Chairman of Tattersalls Club and involved in many community-based activities.

Mr James Albert HAYNES (SHS: 1960-1965) Kensington NSW 2033 For service to the performing arts as an entertainer, author, broadcaster and historian. He is the MD of Singabout Australia, founding member of Bandy Bill & Co Bush Band, past long-term board member of the Country Music Association of Australia, Co-founder of Stone the Crowes Festival, Wagga Wagga, has numerous books, music recordings and radio shows for which he has been recognised throughout his life.