Posted on

Con Barris to retire as rowing master

Rowing badge

After 25 years in the job
High Rowing Master in Charge
Con Barris
is hanging up his megaphone.

extends an invitation to everyone involved in High Rowing from seasons 1984/85 to 2008/09
to celebrate this milestone by joining Con for drinks and canapés
on the evening of the Head of the River
Saturday 28 March 2009
6.00pm – 9.00pm
Function Room at the Outterside Centre, Teviot Avenue, Abbotsford
Cost: $25 per person (includes all beverages and canapés)

To make this a memorable night for Con please come and relive
memories with past crew mates, coaches and parents.

RSVP with payment (at $25 pp) by Friday 20 March 2009

Please email names and years at SHS Rowing to Geoff Andrews at

Electronic payment: Account Name: Sydney Boys High School Rowing Club BSB: 012-243 Account No: 225129729
Cheque payment: Sydney Boys High School Rowing Club
Enquiries: Please contact Julie Blomberg on

Posted on

SBHS: The Foundation Years, 1883-1891

SBHS The Foundation Years

Sydney Boys’ High School has had three homes in its 125-year history.

This new publication celebrates the 125th anniversary of Sydney Boys’ High School by revisiting the years spent in the School’s original home in Castlereagh Street – the site of the foundation of State secondary education in New South Wales.

This 58-page work relies on first-hand accounts and original documents and images to provide a fascinating account of the School’s earliest pupils and masters and their activities at School and beyond.

Only AUS $30 (includes postage and handling within Australia) – Order form

Payment by: Cheque or Credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex)

Other OBU merchandise

Posted on

Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the Sydney High School Old Boys’ Union Inc was held on Tuesday 27 May 2008 at 6:30 pm.

Accounts for 2007

President’s Report 2008

Election results:

President: Joseph Waugh (1987)

Vice Presidents: Dennis Briggs (1967); Mark Livingston (1969); John Pointing (1962), Viv Littlewood (1952); William Clegg (2005); Nathan Scudder (1993); Kenneth Clemens (1955)

Ordinary members: Colin Sherwood (1974); Graeme Anderson (1979); Tony Lewis (1969); Karl Kruszelnicki (2005); Sam Kremer (1992); James Solomons (1998); Barry Jakeman (1969); Aaron Govendir (1960)

Posted on

Advertise on the SHSOBU Website

Want to expose your business to Old Boys and other people who visit the SHSOBU website?

Have you considered purchasing a sponsored link on the SHSOBU website?

Sponsored links may help to improve your search engine rankings and attract clickthroughs from readers of the SHSOBU website.

All revenue helps support the SHSOBU’s continued operations. Contact the OBU Webmaster for details